Skip to content

Morning Light / Digital Life

February 11, 2012

I spent a bright winter morning recently with my friend Brian. He gave me a little demo with his camera, a Hasselblad with a Polaroid back. I shoot solely digital so it was a real treat to see his beautiful technique. Moreover, the “online”, “digital” and “intangible” has been waning as of late for me. Being surrounded by real, three-dimensional and tactile objects seems so much more life-giving than always looking at things on a screen. The one drawback I suppose, is the ease of accessibility to share and exhibit these photographs or whatever medium it may be. Perhaps I need to escape from the digital grasp for a moment and get some prints on walls! Let me know what you guys do gain perspective on the creative process. Have a nice weekend.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 13:02

    I’m a photographer and I notice how differently I shoot on film than digital. I think maybe film allows you to focus more on a single images and therefore gives you better imaging. Don’t get me wrong, I like digital and it’s definitely easier to share images with, but there’s something nice about having to wait to see your images. It’s like Christmas.

    ps- love your blog.

  2. February 11, 2012 16:06

    I agree with Monica, it is exciting to learn to be a bit more patient to see your images with film. You learn to slow down and really savor the photographing process more as well. I hope you get to venture into film more soon.

    Your blog is amazing.

  3. February 12, 2012 06:19

    Nice to see a medium format with polaroid back!
    Since 4 years I am shooting mainly with toy-camera’s, not the ones that are sold via lomography but old ones.
    For 2012, I will process my b/w films. Already got a new macbook and a scanner so I will do self scanning.
    It is really fun!

  4. February 12, 2012 18:30

    Striking a balance between electronic and manual pursuits is the greatest challenge of living happily in the digital age. Hats off for your recent plunge into film with the talented Brian.

    Happily catching up around here. Beautiful work, as always.

  5. February 12, 2012 19:07

    I shoot digitally only. But I love film photographers like Brian Ferry. While I love the sentiments around film photography, I don’t think I will ever shoot with it. I am legally blind so while my digital SLR is my creative medium, it is also at times a mobility aid that allows me to discover more of the surroundings. If it’s really dark, I can take a photo and look at the screen to learn what is around me. Then I can try to capture my own view of the world. Have always loved your photos, I think you would be great no matter what format you shot with.

  6. February 14, 2012 12:24

    thanks for the feedback and sharing such touching stories (lucent imagery).
    love you guys!

  7. February 18, 2012 09:32

    I’m always conflicted when the digital vs film question comes up. I shot with a 4×5 field camera for a couple years and found that I missed a lot of moments while gaining a beautiful few. Things move so quickly now that ,even with smaller format film cameras, digital seems more fluid.

    Speaking of prints, It’s about time you did a gallery show Michael!

    • February 21, 2012 10:45

      Alyce,
      Thanks for your insight. And I’d LOVE to do a show one day. Got any ideas? XO…

  8. February 23, 2012 07:41

    I completely understand where your coming from, I too was brought up digital. But as I grow I find that fast images are boring me. Film captures soul, and you put more thought into it. Something I want to explore more, while digital is great and has its purpose. That camera is sexy! Sorry had to say it! :)

  9. February 28, 2012 09:08

    Hi Michael, what camera do you shoot with mostly? I just bought myself a 5d mark ii and would love to create the quality of image you create with whatever digital camera you use.

    • February 28, 2012 09:15

      alex, great! that’s the same camera I use, actually. hope you enjoy it. looking fwd to seeing your new images.

  10. April 19, 2012 15:14

    Film rules :) (And you can have the negatives put to CD, and share them just the same)! You would RULE film. I would love to see what you’d do with it, since your digital work is absolutely outstanding.

Leave a Reply

