Skip to content

Denim Retirement

December 7, 2011

For the past nearly 3 years, these APC New Standard jeans have served me quite well. There was only a day or two per week these weren’t on my body. After several crotch blow-outs and several repairs, the final blow-out has forced me to send them to retirement. Let me know if anyone has any brand suggestions for a new pair.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 13:22

    just took mine in as well. they have lasted me 3 years and hopefully can make it another year. love your site man. keep up the good work.

  2. December 7, 2011 15:10

    A pair of Nudie jeans are serving me happily since three years. I can recommend that.

  3. December 7, 2011 16:34

    Always a bittersweet day. My Imogene + Willie Bartons are treating me well. Highly recommended.

  4. Jbone permalink
    December 7, 2011 17:30

    Three sixteens are a good alternative. Also, sell those bad boys on ebay. Bet you’ll get at least $60-80.

  5. December 7, 2011 20:07

    Raleigh denim. Worth every penny.

  6. December 8, 2011 09:17

    My husband and I love Acne. My favorite pair has lasted me 2 years now, almost daily wear, with no holes. He’s bought all types of other “designer” denim, and they’ve all ripped, but all three pairs of his Acne’s are still going strong. Check their outlet site for the best deals.

  7. December 8, 2011 16:17

    http://www.earnestsewn.com/

    My favorite!

  8. December 8, 2011 21:34

    Edwin; I had the same APC till I discovered Edwin…….

  9. December 9, 2011 07:40

    thanks for the suggestions everyone. looks like i have some shopping to do!

  10. aaron permalink
    December 10, 2011 13:08

    ROY jeans (Oakland, Ca) …they are unfortunately more expensive ($275?)than APC. I have long legs and big thigh, and ROY’s front rise was perfect. Tellason (San Francisco) also makes a good pair of jeans, just $30 more than your APCs. Both jeans are not too heavy as well.

  11. December 16, 2011 14:05

    second the imogene and willie suggestion. they’re the best, and remarkably tough.

  12. Brian- Commonwealth CrossFit permalink
    February 14, 2012 13:06

    Just bought a replacement pair (Kicking Mule @ 50% off!!) for my old APC’s. Today is my first day wearing them. I forgot how tight new raw denim feels, but these are way more comfortable than my APC’s were right off the bat. I bought the APC’s a little too tight, I think. Anyway, another good option is the unbranded denim from Sault. They’re like $80 for raw selvedge Japanese denim (made in Macau). Can’t beat the price.

  13. February 14, 2012 15:58

    I have a pair of RL jeans that have help up great for 4 years, but plan on picking up some fresh I+W during my honeymoon trip to Nashville.

Leave a Reply

